Tuesday, 30 December 2014

2015 Blindspot

Something I've recently discovered is the Blindspot series, which bloggers partake in each year. The idea is to pick classic movies you have not yet viewed, and believe should be a part of your movie knowledge. Considering my new years resolution is to watch a larger variety of films (as in from different eras, in different languages, etc), this seemed like the perfect thing to do.

Sunday, 28 December 2014

Wild Tales (2015)

Relatos salvajes.jpg
Wild thing, I think I love you

Director: Damián Szifrón
Running Time: 122 Minutes
Starring: Ricardo Darín, Érica Rivas, Julieta Zylberberg, Leonardo Sbaraglia, Óscar Martínez

Saturday, 27 December 2014

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies (2014)

The Hobbit - The Battle of the Five Armies.jpgThe Battle of CGI

Director: Peter Jackson
Running Time: 144 Minutes
Starring: Martin Freeman, Richard Armitage, Ian McKellen, Luke Evans, Evangeline Lilly, Lee Pace, Aiden Turner

Sunday, 7 December 2014

Turtle Power: The Definitive History of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (2014)

A shell of a time

Director: Randall Lobb
Running Time: 98 Minutes
Starring: Peter Laird, Kevin Eastman, Fred Wolf, Mark Askwith

Friday, 5 December 2014

Best Man Down (2013)

Best Man Down Theatrical Poster.png
Worst Man Down

Director: Ted Koland
Running Time: 89 Minutes
Starring: Justin Long, Jess Weixler, Tyler Labine, Addison Timlin

Horrible Bosses 2 (2014)

Horrible Bosses 2.jpg
Same shit, different day

Director: Sean Anders
Running Time: 108 Minutes
Starring: Jason Bateman, Jason Sudeikis, Charlie Day, Chris Pine, Jennifer Aniston, Jamie Foxx, Christoph Waltz, Kevin Spacey

Monday, 1 December 2014

November 2014 in Review

One more month and another year is finished. This month, I managed to experience one of my all-time favourite films in a new light, get a lot of films from this year viewed, with a few thanks to the exceptional Bath Film Festival (my first film festival, yay!). And with Bicycle Thieves, I passed 200 films which I saw over 2014. So, let's see what films I saw in the month that was November.

Saturday, 22 November 2014

Lilting (2014)

Lilting UK poster in portrait mode.jpg
Not associated with the soft drink

Director: Hong Khaou
Running Time: 91 Minutes
Starring: Ben Whishaw, Pei-Pei Cheng, Andrew Leung

Let's Be Cops (2014)

Let's Be Cops poster.jpg
21 Dump Street

Director: Luke Greenfield
Running Time: 104 Minutes
Starring: Jake Johnson, Damon Wayans Jr, James D'Arcy, Nina Dobrev, Keegan-Michael Key

Saturday, 15 November 2014

Obvious Child (2014)


Terminator 5 (the one with good spelling)

Director: Gillian Robespierre
Running Time: 84 Minutes
Starring: Jenny Slate, Max Lacy, Polly Draper, Richard Kind

Saturday, 1 November 2014

Blog: Drive Re-scored

If you talk to a person who have seen Drive, you will 99% of the time be told about how fantastic the soundtrack to it is. The kind of soundtrack that perfectly suits the film, that you could not imagine it with any other songs playing than those already selected. So when it was announced that BBC Three were going to air the film with a new soundtrack, re-scored by Radio One DJ Zane Lowe, it's understandable that the news was met unfavourably. Granted, a number of the people watching the film for the first time would be experiencing it without the revered soundtrack, but the intention of this is to provide an alternative experience to the film, not to put a definitive stamp on it. Also, it should be noted that Drive director Nicolas Winding-Refn gave his approval towards the new soundtrack, which is definitely worth something.


Radio 1's Rescore Of The Movie 'Drive': A Valiant Idea That Ultimately Falls Flat

October 2014 in Review

Halloween came and went, and I attempted to watch many horror films. The results didn't include as much horror as planned, but definitely included some fantastic films. This month was especially notable for one of the years best films, and without a doubt, the worst film of the year. So, let's see what films I saw in the month that was October.

Wednesday, 29 October 2014

Horns (2014)

Horns Official Movie Poster.jpgDevilish Good Fun

Director: Alexandre Aja
Running Time: 120 Minutes
Starring: Daniel Radcliffe, Juno Temple, Max Minghella

Saturday, 25 October 2014

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (2014)

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles film July 2014 poster.jpgNot Turtle-y Cowabungled

Director: Jonathan Liebesman
Running Time: 101 Minutes
Starring: Megan Fox, William Fichtner, Will Arnett

Mrs. Brown's Boys D'Movie (2014)

A man dressed as an old woman, with a curly wig, and oval glasses, and large mole on his chin. His hands are crossed under his chin and he is smiling.D'readful S'hite

Director: Ben Kellett
Running Time: 94 Minutes
Starring: Brendan O'Carroll, Jennifer Gibney, Eilish O'Carroll

Thursday, 23 October 2014

Nightcrawler (2014)

Nightcrawlerfilm.jpg
WARNING: Lacks any characters from the X-Men franchise

Director: Dan Gilroy
Running Time: 117 Minutes
Starring: Jake Gyllenhaal, Rene Russo, Riz Ahmed, Bill Paxton

Monday, 20 October 2014

The Maze Runner (2014)

The Maze Runner poster.jpg
Run Thomas, Run

Director: Wes Ball
Running Time: 113 Minutes
Starring: Dylan O'Brien, Kaya Scoldelario, Will Poulter, Ki Hong Lee, Thomas Brodie-Sangster

Wednesday, 1 October 2014

What We Did on Our Holiday (2014)

What We Did on Our Holiday (2014) PosterWe're all going on a Scottish Holiday

Directors: Andy Hamilton, Guy Jenkin
Running Time: 95 Minutes
Starring: David Tennant, Rosamund Pike, Billy Connolly, Ben Miller

The Expendables (2010)

Nine armed men dressed in black standing shoulder to shoulder, Sylvester Stallone front and center.An Expendable Effort

Director: Sylvester Stallone
Running Time: 103 Minutes
Starring: Sylvester Stallone, Jason Statham, Jet Li, Dolph Lundgren, Eric Roberts, David Zayas, Randy Couture, Steve Austin, Terry Crews, Mickey Rourke

September 2014 in Review

How is it we're already 3/4's into this year? It feels like yesterday that it was 2013. The highlights for this month were how I made my way into silent cinema, with wonderful results, and managed to cross a number of films off my To Watch list. So let's look back at the films I saw in the month that was September.

Thursday, 18 September 2014

The Nut Job (2014)

The Nut Job poster.jpgMore nutty than Squirrel shit

Director: Peter Lepeniotis
Running Time: 85 Minutes
Starring: Will Arnett, Brendan Fraser, Liam Neeson

Hercules (2014)

Hercules (2014 film).jpgRock and Brawl

Director: Brett Ratner
Running Time: 98 Minutes
Starring: Dwayne Johnson, John Hurt, Ian McShane, Rufus Sewell, Aksel Hennie

Thursday, 11 September 2014

The Guest (2014)

The Guest
Guest In Show

Director: Adam Wingard
Running Time: 99 Minutes
Starring: Dan Stevens, Maika Monroe, Brendan Meyer, Lance Reddick

Wednesday, 10 September 2014

Sex Tape (2014)

Sex Tape (film).jpgTissues at the Ready

Director: Jake Kasdan
Running Time: 94 Minutes
Starring: Jason Segal, Cameron Diaz, Rob Corddry, Ellie Kemper, Rob Lowe

Saturday, 6 September 2014

As Above, So Below (2014)

As Above, So Below Poster.jpgRaiders of the Lost Catacomb

Director: John Erick Dowdle
Running Time: 93 Minutes
Starring: Perdita Weeks, Ben Feldman, Edwin Hodge, François Civil

Big Bad Wolves (2014)

Big Bad Wolves US Theatrical Poster.jpgRed Riding Hood Not Included

Directors: Aharon Keshales, Navot Papushado
Running Time: 110 Minutes
Starring: Lior Ashkenazi, Rotem Keinan, Tzahi Grad

Monday, 1 September 2014

August 2014 in Review

You can easily tell my thoughts on Marvel's latest insertion into their Cinematic Universe, but I also managed to watch one of the most frightening experiences of my time, one of the most bizarre films I will ever witness, resulting in a failure to assign a rating, and come across the worst film I have ever seen in my life. Now let's see what films I saw in August.

Monday, 25 August 2014

Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

The five Guardians, sporting various weapons, arrayed in front of a backdrop of a planet in space.The A-Hole Patrol

Director: James Gunn
Running Time: 121 Minutes
Starring: Chris Pratt, Zoe Saldana, Dave Bautista, Vin Diesel, Bradley Cooper, Lee Pace, Karen Gillian, Michael Rooker, Djimon Hounsou, John C. Reilly, Benicio Del Toro, Glenn Close

Wednesday, 20 August 2014

Knights of Badassdom (2014)

Knights of Badassdom.jpg
A Real Knightmare

Director: Joe Lynch
Running Time: 86 mins
Starring: Ryan Kwanten, Steve Zahn, Summer Glau, Peter Dinklage

No Strings Attached & Friends With Benefits (2011)

the characters, getting dressed in a bedroom and smiling at each other.Friends with benefits poster.jpgIn cinema, there are often years when two seemingly identical films released. They can share the same basic premise, like last years 'White House under attack' two-hander of Olympus Has Fallen and White House Down, or they can share something as simple as a main character, like this years two Hercules films. It's an unfortunate coincidence, but has occurred more frequently in recent years. For that reason, I have to decided to combine my thoughts on 2011's two "Friends having sex" films into one review.

Director: Ivan Reitman                                       Director: Will Gluck
Running Time: 108 mins                                  Running Time: 109 mins
Starring: Ashton Kutcher, Natalie Portman         Starring: Justin Timberlake, Mila Kunis

Saturday, 9 August 2014

Keith Lemon: The Film (2012)

A topless man, with a lemon branded phone poking above the waistband of his jeans.A Lemon you don't want life to give you

Director: Paul Angunawela
Running Time: 85 Minutes
Starring: Leigh Francis, Kelly Brook, Laura Aikman, Kevin Bishop, Verne Troyer

Friday, 8 August 2014

Life After Beth (2014)

Theatrical release posterNight of the Living Girlfriend

Director: Jeff Baena
Running Time: 91 minutes
Starring: Dane DeHaan, Aubrey Plaza, John C. Reilly, Molly Shannon

Thursday, 7 August 2014

The Inbetweeners 2 (2014)

Inbetweeners 2 Movie Poster.jpgSequel Friend

Directors: Damon Beesley, Iain Morris
Running Time: 96 Minutes
Starring: Simon Bird, Joe Thomas, James Buckley, Blake Harrison

Wednesday, 6 August 2014

Sharknado 2: The Second One (2014)

Sharknado 2: The Second One (2014) PosterShark Tale

Director: Anthony C. Ferrante
Running Time: 90 minutes
Starring: Ian Ziering, Tara Reid, Vivicia A. Fox, Mark McGrath, Kari Wuhrer

Saturday, 2 August 2014

July 2014 in Review

July has left us, meaning it's that time again. So, let's see the films I saw over the month that was July.

Thursday, 31 July 2014

The Purge: Anarchy (2014)

The Purge – Anarchy Poster.jpgAnarchy in the USA

Director: James DeMonaco
Running Time: 103 minutes
Starring: Frank Grillo, Carmen Ejogo, Zach Gilford, Kiele Sanchez, Zoë Soul, Michael K. Williams

Monday, 14 July 2014

The Raid (2012)

The Raid Redemption.jpgAttack The Block

Director: Gareth Evans
Running Time: 101 minutes
Starring: Iko Uwais, Ananda George, Ray Sahetapy, Joe Taslim


Friday, 11 July 2014

Need For Speed (2014)

Need for Speed (2014) PosterNeed to Cash In

Director: Scott Waugh
Running Time: 132 minutes
Starring: Aaron Paul, Dominic Cooper, Imogen Poots, Michael Keaton

Monday, 7 July 2014

Snowpiercer (2014)

Snowpiercer poster.jpg
Snow Worries

Director:
Bong Joon-Ho
Running Time: 126 minutes
Starring: Chris Evans, Jamie Bell, Tilda Swinton, John Hurt, Ed Harris, Octavia Spencer, Kang-ho Song

Wednesday, 2 July 2014

Transformers: Age of Extinction (2014)

Transformers Age of Extinction Poster.jpeg
Jurassic Snark

Director: Michael Bay
Running Time: 165 minutes
Starring: Mark Wahlberg, Nicola Peltz, Jack Reynor, Kelsey Grammer, Stanley Tucci

Blog: 2014 - Halfway There (But not Livin' on a Prayer)

We're halfway through 2014. Whether it was a great or a disappointing year for film depends on what you saw, but for me it's been a good one. Not a great one, but there's still time to change that. For now, here are the 10 best and worst films I have seen from the first half of 2014.

Tuesday, 1 July 2014

June 2014 in Review

As you read this, we're halfway through the year. How fast has that come around? So now, let us take a look at what I saw in June.

Sabotage (2014)

Sabotage (2014 film poster).jpgNot affiliated with The Beastie Boys

Director: David Ayer
Running Time: 109 minutes
Starring: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sam Worthington, Olivia Williams, Joe Maganiello, Mireille Enos, Terrence Howard

Wednesday, 25 June 2014

G.I. Joe: Retaliation (2013)

Three men, flanked by two women and an Chinese man. The words GIJoe written diagonally below.
G.I. Hell No!

Director: John M. Chu
Running Time: 110 minutes
Starring: Dwayne Johnson, Channing Tatum, Bruce Willis, Adrianne Palicki, Ray Stevenson, Jonathan Pryce

Friday, 13 June 2014

The Legend of Hercules (2014)

Hercules (2014 film) poster.jpg
Less godly, more of a slog

Director: Renny Harlin
Running Time: 99 minutes
Starring: Kellan Lutz, Gaia Weiss, Scott Adkins, Liam Garrigan, Liam McIntyre

Thursday, 12 June 2014

22 Jump Street (2014)

The faces of two men wearing colorful sunglasses, and holding guns up beside their faces. Above them the number '22' in red.
Same Schmidt, Different Year

Director: Phil Lord, Chris Miller
Running Time: 112 minutes
Starring: Channing Tatum, Jonah Hill, Ice Cube, Peter Stormare, Nick Offerman

Monday, 9 June 2014

A Million Ways To Die In The West (2014)

Three people dressed in Western style. On the left in the background a man dressed in dark colors with a gun held high. In the centre a man in a blue shirt with a brown waistcoat, and to his right a blonde womanHow the West was not Fun

Director: Seth MacFarlane
Running Time: 116 minutes
Starring: Seth MacFarlane, Charlize Theron, Liam Neeson, Giovanni Ribisi, Neil Patrick Harris, Amanda Seyfried, Sarah Silverman

Sunday, 8 June 2014

This Is The End (2013)

Six worried-looking men stand on a suspended part of a street over a fiery pit. The primary cast members are listed across the top, and the tagline "Nothing ruins a party like the end of the world" is at the bottom.
This Is The Review

Director: Seth Rogen, Evan Goldberg
Running Time: 107 minutes
Starring: Jay Baruchel, Seth Rogen, James Franco, Danny McBride, Craig Robertson, Jonah Hill, Michael Cera, Emma Watson

Sunday, 1 June 2014

Maleficent (2014)

Maleficent poster.jpg
Fairy, Interrupted

A beautiful, pure-hearted young woman, Maleficent has an idyllic life growing up in a peaceable forest kingdom, until one day when an invading army threatens the harmony of the land. Maleficent rises to be the land's fiercest protector, but she ultimately suffers a ruthless betrayal - an act that begins to turn her pure heart to stone. Bent on revenge, Maleficent faces a battle with the invading king's successor and, as a result, places a curse upon his newborn infant Aurora.

May 2014 in Review

This month marked the end of my 3 years at University, but this did not deter my chance to watch films in my spare time. I got introduced to a horror masterpiece, finally finished one of the best film trilogies ever made, saw some of the years worst films and finally saw a little film from last year which many people raved about. So, how about we take a look at the films I saw in May.

Tuesday, 27 May 2014

Non-Stop (2014)

A man falling back along an airplane, firing a gun.
Less dangerous than flying Ryan Air

An air marshal springs into action during a transatlantic flight after receiving a series of text messages that put his fellow passengers at risk unless the airline transfers $150 million into an off-shore account.

Saturday, 24 May 2014

Blended (2014)

Blended (2014) Poster.jpg
Escape 2 Africa

After a bad blind date, a man and woman find themselves stuck together at a resort for families, where their attraction grows as their respective kids benefit from the burgeoning relationship.

Thursday, 22 May 2014

Machete (2010)

Machete poster.jpg
Once upon a Mexican in Texas

After being set-up and betrayed by the man who hired him to assassinate a Texas Senator, an ex-Federale launches a brutal rampage of revenge against his former boss.

Friday, 16 May 2014

Bad Neighbours (2014)

A man carrying a baby, standing beside a younger man holding a beer, in front of a picket fence.Animal House, now with added Green Hornet

A couple with a newborn baby face unexpected difficulties after they are forced to live next to a fraternity house.

Wednesday, 14 May 2014

A Haunted House 2 (2014)

A Haunted House 2.jpg
Worse than getting possessed

Having exorcised the demons of his ex, Malcolm is starting fresh with his new girlfriend and her two children. After moving into their dream home, however, Malcolm is once again plagued by bizarre paranormal events.

Monday, 5 May 2014

Pompeii (2014)

A Volcano erupting. In the foreground and a man and a woman are embracing. In the centre of the poster the tagline: No Warning. No Escape
Bastille song not included

A slave-turned-gladiator finds himself in a race against time to save his true love, who has been betrothed to a corrupt Roman Senator. As Mount Vesuvius erupts, he must fight to save his beloved as Pompeii crumbles around him.

Thursday, 1 May 2014

Blog: That moment when The Other Woman pissed me off...

On Wednesday 23rd April 2014, I sat in the cinema to watch The Other Woman with my girlfriend (I suffer for you, babe). If you've read my review, then you'll know I did not enjoy the film, but there was one particular moment which stood out to me, due to how absolutely horrible it was.

April 2014 in Review

This month, I managed to rewatch two-thirds of a certain trilogy which I have loved since I was a kid, which had had both entries make their way straight into my top 10 films of all time, and have seen 2 of the worst films 2014 has spewed out as far. A lot of rewatches this time around, mainly thanks to my girlfriend. So enough jibber-jabber, here's the films I saw in April.

Tuesday, 29 April 2014

The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (2014)

Spider-Man upside down on the side of the OsCorp tower.
Breakin' 2: Electro Boogaloo

Peter Parker runs the gauntlet as the mysterious company Oscorp sends up a slew of supervillains against him, impacting on his life.

Thursday, 24 April 2014

The Other Woman (2014)

The Other Woman (2014 film) poster.jpgHaha, abuse to men is funny

After discovering her boyfriend Mark (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau) is married, Carly (Cameron Diaz) soon meets the wife he's been cheating on (Leslie Mann). And when yet another affair (with Kate Upton) is discovered, all three women team up to plot mutual revenge on the three-timing SOB.

Sunday, 13 April 2014

Divergent (2014)

Lead characters Tris and Four stand above a futuristic Chicago.
The Younger Games

In a world divided by factions based on virtues, Tris learns she's Divergent and won't fit in. When she discovers a plot to destroy Divergents, Tris and the mysterious Four must find out what makes Divergents dangerous before it's too late.