Sunday, 20 December 2015

Star Wars: Episode VII - The Force Awakens (2015)

Star Wars The Force Awakens Theatrical Poster.jpgJ.J In the Stars With Droids

Director: J.J. Abrams
Running Time: 135 Minutes
Starring: Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Issac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domnhall Gleeson

Krampus (2015)


We Wish You A Malicious Christmas

Director: Michael Dougherty
Running Time: 98 Minutes
Starring: Emjay Anthony, Adam Scott, Toni Collette, David Koechner, Allison Tolman, Conchata Ferrell

Monday, 14 December 2015

Sunday, 6 December 2015

Tangerine (2015)

Tangerine (film) POSTER.jpg
No Mandarins or Satsumas included

Director: Sean Baker
Running Time: 88 Minutes
Starring: Kitana Kiki Rodriguez, Mya Taylor, James Ransone, Mickey O'Hagan, Karren Karagulian

American Ultra (2015)


High Adventure

Director: Nima Nourizadeh

Running Time: 96 Minutes
Starring: Jesse Eisenberg, Kristen Stewart, Topher Grace, Connie Britton, Walton Goggins, John Leguizamo, Bill Pullman, Tony Hale

Tuesday, 1 December 2015

November 2015 in Review

One more month left in 2015, and we have just over two weeks until the release of the brand new Star Wars film. It's hard to believe we're almost through the year, nor that we've reached the perfect time to view Christmas films. This past month has had me revisiting old favourites, as well as encountering fantastic examples of 2015 cinema. So, for the penultimate time this year, let's see what I viewed over the past November.

Monday, 30 November 2015

The Final Girls (2015)

The Final Girls poster.jpg
Slash Fiction

Director: Todd Strauss-Schulson
Running Time: 88 Minutes
Starring: Taissa Farminga, Malin Åkerman, Adam Devine, Alexander Ludwig, Alia Shawkat, Nina Dobrev, Thomas Middleditch

Thursday, 26 November 2015

Friday the 13th (1980)

Friday the thirteenth movie poster.jpg
No fun like camping

Director: Sean S. Cunningham
Running Time: 95 mins
Starring: Betsy Palmer, Adrienne King, Jeannine Taylor, Kevin Bacon

The Wedding Ringer (2015)

TheWeddingRingerPoster.jpg
Unhappily Ever After watching this

Director: Jeremy Garelick
Running Time: 101 Minutes
Starring: Kevin Hart, Josh Gad, Kaley Cuoco-Sweeting, Jorge Garcia, Olivia Thirlby, Ken Howard

Sunday, 22 November 2015

Terminator Genisys (2015)

Terminator Genisys.JPG
Terminating Correct Spelling

Director: Alan Taylor
Running Time: 126 Minutes
Starring: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Emilia Clarke, Jai Courtney, Jason Clarke, Lee Byung-hun, J.K Simmons

Monday, 9 November 2015

The Gift (2015)


The Gift 2015 Film Poster1.pngA true gift

Director: Joel Edgerton
Running Time: 108 Minutes
Starring: Jason Bateman, Rebecca Hall, Joel Edgerton

Creep (2015)

Creep (2014 film) poster.jpg
Warning: Does not contain the similarly named Radiohead song

Director: Patrick Brice
Running Time: 82 Minutes
Starring: Patrick Brice, Mark Duplass

Thursday, 5 November 2015

Spectre (2015)

James Bond, holding a gun in front of a masked man, with the film's title and creditsIn-Spectre Gadget

Director: Sam Mendes
Starring: Daniel Craig, Christoph Waltz, Léa Seydoux, Ben Whishaw, Naomie Harris, Dave Bautista, Monica Bellucci, Ralph Fiennes, Andrew Scott
Running Time: 148 Minutes

Monday, 2 November 2015

October 2015 in Review

Halloween has come and gone, and I've managed a decent amount of horror films this year. Anyone else see the Ash vs Evil Dead premiere? (VERY recommended, especially to fans of Sam Raimi's deadite destroying trilogy). So, let's jump into the films I viewed over the past October.

Friday, 30 October 2015

Black Mass (2015)

Black Mass (film) poster.jpg
Gangster's Paradise

Director: Scott Cooper
Running Time: 122 Minutes
Starring: Johnny Depp, Joel Edgerton, Benedict Cumberbatch, Rory Cochrane, Kevin Bacon, Jesse Plemons, Corey Stoll, Peter Sarsgaard, Dakota Johnson

Friday, 23 October 2015

Goodnight Mommy (2015)

Goodnight Mommy.jpgGoodnight Audience

Directors: Severin Fiala, Veronika Franz
Running Time: 99 Minutes
Starring: Lukas Schwartz, Elias Schwartz, Susanne Wuest

Idle Hands (1999)

Handle with care

Director: Rodman Flender
Running Time: 92 Minutes
Starring: Devon Sawa, Jessica Alba, Seth Green, Elden Henson, Vivicia A. Fox

Tuesday, 6 October 2015

The Human Centipede 3 (Final Sequence) (2015)

The Human Centipede 3 Poster.jpgThe (hopefully) Final Nightmare

Director: Tom Six
Running Time: 102 Mins
Starring: Dieter Laser, Laurence R. Harvey, Bree Olsen, Eric Roberts

Friday, 2 October 2015

Franchise in Retrospect: The Fast and The Furious (2001 - 2015)

For my next entry, I have chosen a franchise which was a box office success early on, but gained interest from its fifth film onwards when critics began to praise its enjoyability. It's status as a box office hit was cemented this year, when it's latest entry became one of the highest grossing films of all time. So buckle up and make more car based puns, for we're looking at The Fast and The Furious franchise.

WARNING: This post contains spoilers for the Fast and the Furious franchise. Do not read on if you wish to remain unspoilt.

September 2015 in Review

We've now entered October, which means plenty of horror films to watch as we lead into Halloween. This month saw me delve into another franchise, watch quite a few of this years films, while also partaking in quite a few older films. So, let's check out my month that was September.

Wednesday, 23 September 2015

The Gamechangers (2015)

The Gamechangers Poster
Game Over!

Director: Owen Harris
Running Time: 90 Minutes
Starring: Daniel Radcliffe, Bill Paxton, Joe Dempsie

Wednesday, 2 September 2015

August 2015 in Review

September's here, which means Summer's officially over and children are back to school. My attempts to catch up on films has resulted in delving into some considered classics, quite a few from this year (of which only a few are actually good), and many rewatches. I've also added a new feature onto the bottom, a monthly average for the films I've watched in the month. So, how was my August in viewing?

Monday, 31 August 2015

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl (2015)

Me & Earl & the Dying Girl (film) POSTER.jpg
Death Prattle

Director: Alfonso Gomez-Rejon
Running Time: 105 Minutes
Starring: Thomas Mann, Olivia Cooke, Ronald Cyler II, Jon Bernthal, Nick Offerman, Connie Britton, Molly Shannon

Sunday, 30 August 2015

Trainwreck (2015)

Trainwreck poster.jpgWreck-It Amy

Director: Judd Apatow
Running Time: 125 Minutes
Starring: Amy Schumer, Bill Hader, John Cena, Brie Larson, Colin Quinn, Ezra Miller, Tilda Swinton, LeBron James

The Human Centipede 2 (Full Sequence) (2011)

Human Centipede 2 Poster.jpg
Will leave you squirming

Director: Tom Six
Running Time: 91 Minutes
Starring: Laurence R. Harvey, Ashlynn Yennie

Friday, 28 August 2015

Tank Girl (1995)


Tanks for Nothing

Director: Rachel Talalay
Running Time: 104 Minutes
Starring: Lori Petty, Naomi Watts, Ice-T, Jeff Kober, Malcolm McDowell

Friday, 21 August 2015

Ant-Man (2015)

Small Wonder

Director: Peyton Reed
Running Time: 117 Minutes
Starring: Paul Rudd, Michael Douglas, Evangeline Lilly, Corey Stoll, Michael Peña, Bobby Cannavale

Pixels (2015)

PixelsOfficialPoster.jpg
Game of Groans

Director: Chris Colombus
Running Time: 106 Minutes
Starring: Adam Sandler, Kevin James, Michelle Monaghan, Peter Dinklage, Josh Gad, Brian Cox, Ashley Benson, Jane Krakowski

Saturday, 8 August 2015

Ted 2 (2015)

Ted 2 poster.jpg
Grin and Bear It

Director: Seth MacFarlane
Running Time: 115 Minutes
Starring: Mark Wahlberg, Seth MacFarlane, Amanda Seyfried, Jessica Barth, Giovanni Ribisi, John Slattery, Morgan Freeman

Fantastic Four (2015)

Fantastic Four 2015 poster.jpg
It's Critiquing Time

Director: Josh Trank
Running Time: 100 Minutes
Starring: Miles Teller, Kate Mara, Michael B. Jordan, Jamie Bell, Toby Kebbell, Reg E. Cathy, Tim Blake Nelson

Saturday, 1 August 2015

July 2015 in Review

July's over with, and this is definitely the shortest In Review article since I started this. A holiday away in Madeira attributes to this, and as a result, some of the choices at the bottom are broad in their definitions. For example, this months Biggest Disappointment wasn't an overall disappointment, I just liked it less from the past viewings. So let's settle down and see what (few) films I watched over the July just gone.

Monday, 13 July 2015

Time To Kill (2015)


Time of your life(s end)

Director: Justin Rettke
Running Time: 10 Minutes
Starring: Christopher T. Wood, Deacon Ledges, Oscar Lipp

Thursday, 9 July 2015

Inside Out (2015)

Inside Out (2015 film) poster.jpg
Forward Emotion

Director: Pete Docter, Ronnie Del Carmen
Running Time: 94 Minutes
Starring: Amy Poehler, Phyllis Smith, Lewis Black, Mindy Kaling, Bill Hader, Kaitlyn Dias, Diane Lane, Kyle MacLachlan, Richard Kind

Thursday, 2 July 2015

Blog: 2015 - The Halfway Point

We're currently at the halfway point for 2015, and in my opinion, it's been a pretty solid year. Let's see what films are, in my opinion, the Top and Bottom 5 of 2015.

June 2015 in Review

So here we are, with half the year past us already. Feels just like yesterday we were ushering in 2015. I haven't been able to watch as many films this month, due to moving out of my parents house, and due to a need to binge-watch shows like Archer and True Detective. But thankfully, I still managed to watch a good portion. So, let's see what I managed to view over the past month that was June.

Sunday, 28 June 2015

Minions (2015)


Yellow Alert

Director: Pierre Coffin & Kyle Balda
Running Time: 91 Minutes
Starring: Sandra Bullock, Jon Hamm, Michael Keaton, Allison Janney, Steve Coogan, Geoffrey Rush

Wednesday, 10 June 2015

Man Up (2015)

Man Up (film) poster.jpg
A Blind Date gone wrong

Director: Ben Palmer
Running Time: 88 Minutes
Starring: Lake Bell, Simon Pegg, Rory Kinnear, Ken Stott

Tuesday, 9 June 2015

Spy (2015)

Spy2015 TeaserPoster.jpg
Cupcake Necklaces are Forever

Director: Paul Feig
Running Time: 120 Minutes
Starring: Melissa McCarthy, Jason Statham, Rose Byrne, Jude Law, Miranda Hart, Bobby Cannavale, Allison Janney, Peter Serafinowicz

Tuesday, 2 June 2015

May 2015 in Review

Another month has passed. This time, Nicolas Cage, Charlize Theron, Tina Turner and Melissa McCarthy have all embarked in driving whilst fuelled with rage. An unintended theme, but let's see what films I watched over the past month.

Saturday, 23 May 2015

Mad Max: Fury Road (2015)


Theatrical release poster
Mad as hell, and going to take this some more

Director: George Miller
Running Time: 120 Minutes
Starring: Tom Hardy, Charlize Theron, Hugh Keays-Byrne, Nicholas Hoult

Friday, 1 May 2015

April 2015 in Review

This month was dominated by binge-watches of Netflix's latest addition, Daredevil, and the first four seasons of Game of Thrones, so a lot more shorts were seen this month. But a good amount were still viewed, especially with the latest instalment in one of the best recent film franchises. So, let's witness the films I viewed over the past April.

Monday, 27 April 2015

Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)

Avengers Age of Ultron.jpg
Stark paternal issues

Director: Joss Whedon
Running Time: 141 Minutes
Starring: Robert Downey Jr, Chris Evans, Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo, Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner, James Spader, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Elizabeth Olsen, Paul Bettany, Don Cheadle, Samuel L. Jackson, Cobie Smulders, Anthony Mackie, Hayley Atwell

Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck (2015)

Montage of Heck poster.jpg
Come As You Are, As A Viewer

Director: Brett Morgen
Running Time: 132 Minutes
Starring: Kurt Cobain, Courtney Love, Krist Novoselic, Dave Grohl

Thursday, 9 April 2015

Fifty Shades of Grey (2015)


Fifty-Gray-poster.jpgThe Punisher: Phwoar Zone

Director: Sam Taylor-Johnson
Running Time: 125 Minutes
Starring: Dakota Johnson, Jamie Dornan, Jennifer Ehle, Luke Grimes

Punisher: War Zone (2008)

Punisherwarzoneteaser.jpg
Castle Clash!

Director: Lexi Alexander
Running Time: 107 Minutes
Starring: Ray Stevenson, Dominic West, Doug Hutchinson, Colin Salmon

The Punisher (2004)

Punisher ver2.jpg
A Punishing Watch

Director: Jonathan Hensleigh
Running Time: 124 Minutes
Starring: Thomas Jane, John Travolta, Will Patton, Roy Schneider, Ben Foster

Wednesday, 1 April 2015

March 2015 in Review

Thanks to short films and a week's holiday, I managed to up the count for this months films viewed. There was also finally finishing the Saw franchise, and managing to get through many films that I'd been looking forward to seeing. So, let's take a gander at what I viewed over the past March.

Monday, 30 March 2015

The Divergent Series: Insurgent (2015)

Insurgent poster.jpg
Rebel Without an Identity

Director: Robert Schwentke
Running Time: 119 Minutes
Starring: Shailene Woodley, Theo James, Kate Winslet, Ansel Elgort, Miles Teller, Jai Courtney, Naomi Watts

Saturday, 21 March 2015

Franchise in Retrospect: Saw (2004 - 2010)

Welcome to a new segment of my blog, entitled Franchise in Retrospect. The idea of this is for me to take a franchise which I have not seen in it's entirety, and view each released instalment. I will then assess my overall thoughts on each chapter, and the entire franchise.

For my first entry, I have chosen a recent horror franchise which was a juggernaut at the box office, but far from a critical success. Doesn't narrow it down? Okay, it's Saw.

WARNING: This post contains spoilers for the Saw franchise. Do not read on if you wish to remain unspoilt.