Monday, 26 June 2017

Baby Driver (2017)

Baby Driver poster.jpg
Driving its way into your sound systems

Director: Edgar Wright
Running Time: 113 Minutes
Starring: Ansel Elgort, Lily James, Kevin Spacey, Jon Hamm, Jamie Foxx, Jon Bernthal, Eiza González, Flea, Sky Ferreira

Saturday, 24 June 2017

Transformers: The Last Knight (2017)

Transformers The Last Knight poster.jpg
What a Knight-mare

Director: Michael Bay
Running Time: 149 Minutes
Starring: Mark Wahlberg, Anthony Hopkins, Josh Duhamel, Laura Haddock, Isabela Moner, Stanley Tucci, John Turturro, Jerrod Carmichael, Santiago Cabrera, Glenn Morshower

Tuesday, 20 June 2017

My Cousin Rachel (2017)

My Cousin Rachel (2017 film).png
Rachel plays Rachel

Director: Roger Michell
Running Time: 106 Minutes
Starring: Rachel Weisz, Sam Claflin, Iain Glen, Holliday Grainger, Andrew Knott, Poppy Lee Friar

Sunday, 11 June 2017

The Mummy (2017)

The Mummy (2017).jpg
No amount of bandages can hold this mess together

Director: Alex Kurtzman
Running Time: 110 Minutes
Starring: Tom Cruise, Annabelle Wallis, Sofia Boutella, Jake Johnson, Courtney B. Vance, Russell Crowe, Javier Botet

Saturday, 10 June 2017

May 2017 In Review

A packed month for my film-watching, as I worked my way through franchise films, took in the latest offerings, and unexpectedly viewed what would become all-time favourite films. So, enough waffling on, let's see what films I viewed over the past May.

Thursday, 1 June 2017

Wonder Woman (2017)

Wonder Woman (2017 film).jpg
Amazon Prime

Director: Patty Jenkins
Running Time: 141 Minutes
Starring: Gal Gadot, Chris Pine, Robin Wright, Danny Huston, David Thewlis, Connie Nielsen, Elena Anaya, Lucy Davis, Saïd Taghmaoui, Ewen Bremner, Eugene Brave Rock

Saturday, 27 May 2017

Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar's Revenge (2017)

Pirates Of The Caribbean: Salazar's Revenge
Yo Ho Hum, I need a bottle of rum after this.

Directors: Joachim Rønning, Espen Sandberg
Running Time: 129 Minutes
Starring: Johnny Depp, Javier Bardem, Brenton Thwaites, Kaya Scodelario, Kevin McNally, Geoffrey Rush, Orlando Bloom, Golshifteh Farahani, Stephen Graham, David Wenham

Sunday, 21 May 2017

Sleepless (2017)

Sleepless (2017 film).jpg
Ironically titled

Director: Baran bo Odar
Running Time: 95 Minutes
Starring: Jamie Foxx, Michelle Monaghan, Dermot Mulroney, Scoot McNairy, T.I., Gabrielle Union, David Harbour

King Arthur: Legend of the Sword (2017)

King Arthur wears a leather jacket in front of a grey sky and faces the viewer, his sword held by both hands downward in front of his chest.Bored of the Rings

Director: Guy Ritchie
Running Time: 126 Minutes
Starring: Charlie Hunnam, Àstrid Bergès-Frisbey, Djimon Hounsou, Aiden Gillen, Jude Law, Eric Bana, Tom Wu, Freddie Fox, Craig McGinlay, Neil Maskell, Kingsley Ben-Adir, Michael McElhatton

Thursday, 11 May 2017

A Dog's Purpose (2017)

A Dog's Purpose (film).jpg
A real dog of a tale

Director: Lasse Hallström
Running Time: 120 Minutes
Starring: Josh Gad, Dennis Quaid, KJ Apa, Britt Robertson, Juliet Rylance, John Ortiz, Kirby Howell-Baptiste, Peggy Lipton

Friday, 5 May 2017

April 2017 In Review

Yep, another month where Moonlight was watched by me and absolutely loved. I can't help it, I just absolutely love it. I did see other films though, so let us delve into what I watched this past April.

Monday, 1 May 2017

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)

GotG Vol2 poster.jpg
Parental Guidance

Director: James Gunn
Running Time: 136 Minutes
Starring: Chris Pratt, Zoe Saldana, Dave Bautista, Vin Diesel, Bradley Cooper, Michael Rooker, Karen Gillan, Pom Klementieff, Elizabeth Debicki, Chris Sullivan, Sean Gunn, Sylvester Stallone, Kurt Russell

Monday, 24 April 2017

The Belko Experiment (2017)

The Belko Experiment poster.jpg
An experiment not worth your time

Director: Greg McLean
Running Time: 88 Minutes
Starring: John Gallagher Jr, Tony Goldwyn, Adria Arjona, John C. McGinley, Melonie Diaz, Josh Brener, Michael Rooker

Sunday, 23 April 2017

The Void (2017)

The Void (2016 film).pngAn empty void of a film

Directors:
 Steven Kostanski, Jeremy Gillespie
Running Time: 90 Minutes
Starring: Aaron Poole, Kenneth Welsh, Daniel Fathers, Kathleen Munroe, Ellen Wong, Mik Byskov, Grace Munro, Evan Stern

Tuesday, 18 April 2017

Fast & Furious 8 (2017)

Fast & Furious 8
Family Feud

Director: F. Gary Gray
Running Time: 136 Minutes
Starring: Vin Diesel, Dwayne Johnson, Jason Statham, Michelle Rodriguez, 'Tyrese Gibson, Chris 'Ludacris" Bridges, Scott Eastwood, Nathalie Emmanuel, Kurt Russell, Charlize Theron

Friday, 14 April 2017

Power Rangers (2017)

Power Rangers (2017 Official Theatrical Poster).png
Is the Morphin Mighty?

Director: Dean Israelite
Running Time: 124 Minutes
Starring: Dacre Montgomery, Naomi Scott, Rj Cyler, Becky G, Ludi Lin, Bill Hader, Bryan Cranston, Elizabeth Banks

Sunday, 9 April 2017

Life (2017)

Life (2017 film).png
As we know it

Director: Daniel Espinosa
Running Time: 103 Minutes
Starring: Jake Gyllenhaal, Rebecca Ferguson, Ryan Reynolds, Hiroyuki Sanada, Ariyon Bakare, Olga Dihovichnaya

Thursday, 6 April 2017

Ghost in the Shell (2017)

Image result for ghost in the shell 2017 poster
A Hollow Shell

Director: Rupert Sanders
Running Time: 106 Minutes
Starring: Scarlett Johansson, Michael Carmen Pitt, Pilou Asbæk, "Beat" Takeshi Kitano, Chin Han, Juliette Binoche, Peter Ferdinando, Kaori Momoi, Lasarus Ratuere

Sunday, 2 April 2017

March 2017 In Review

A quarter of 2017 has now passed us by, how times flies. Many of my viewings this month were rewatches, especially involving a certain Best Picture winner. Enough of me waffling on, let's see what I viewed this past March.

Kong: Skull Island (2017)

Kong standing right front of the sun, near the hills and Soliders chasing him in the water.
Ape-ocalypse Now

Director: Jordan Vogt-Roberts
Running Time: 118 Minutes
Starring: Tom Hiddleston, Samuel L. Jackson, John Goodman, Brie Larson, Jing Tian, Toby Kebbell, John Ortiz, Corey Hawkins, Jason Mitchell, Shea Whigham, Thomas Mann, Terry Notary, John C. Reilly

Wednesday, 29 March 2017

Free Fire (2017)

Free Fire.png
Trigger Happy Cinema

Director: Ben Wheatley
Running Time: 90 Minutes
Starring: Brie Larson, Sharlto Copley, Armie Hammer, Cillian Murphy, Jack Reynor, Babou Ceesay, Enzo Clienti, Sam Riley, Michael Smiley, Noah Taylor, Patrick Bergin, Tom Davis, Mark Monero

Thursday, 23 March 2017

Get Out (2017)

Get Out
Best to follow the title instruction

Director: Jordan Peele
Running Time: 103 Minutes
Starring: Daniel Kaluuya, Allison Williams, Bradley Whitford, Caleb Landry Jones, Stephen Root, Lakeith Stanfield, Catherine Keener

Wednesday, 15 March 2017

Logan (2017)

Logan
Children of X-Men

Director: James Mangold
Running Time: 137 Minutes
Starring: Hugh Jackman, Patrick Stewart, Dafne Keen, Boyd Holbrook, Stephen Merchant, Richard E. Grant, Eriq La Salle, Elise Neal, Elizabeth Rodriguez

February 2017 In Review

Another month of film, full of 2017 releases, Oscar nominated films, and a want to keep up to date with writing & film watching challenges. So, let's see what I viewed over the past February.

Sunday, 26 February 2017

20 Best Films of 2016

It's almost March, and the Oscars are tonight, so it's about time I did this. Here are my Best films of 2016.

Wednesday, 22 February 2017

Rings (2017)

Rings - Official Theatrical Poster.png
The real horror is watching it

Director: F. Javier Gutiérrez
Running Time: 102 Minutes
Starring: Matilda Lutz, Alex Roe, Johnny Galecki, Vincent D'Onofrio

Saturday, 11 February 2017

20 Worst Films of 2016

It has been 42 days since 2016 left our lives, and I've only just managed to finish my list of the films I was unfortunate enough to witness. So, these are my worst films of 2016.

Expect a Best of 2016 list to follow soon after.

January 2017 in Review

A bit later than usual, yes, but this was an intriguing month to begin 2017 with. I managed to view many films I've intended to view for a long time, while building up my best of 2016 list. Simple enough, so here's what I viewed over the past month.

Wednesday, 8 February 2017

The Lego Batman Movie (2017)

The Lego Batman Movie PromotionalPoster.jpg
The Brick Knight Returns

Director: Chris McKay
Running Time: 104 Minutes
Starring: Will Arnett, Zach Galifianakis, Michael Cera, Rosario Dawson, Ralph Fiennes, Mariah Carey, Jenny Slate, Susan Bennett, Billy Dee Williams, Héctor Elizondo, Conan O'Brien, Jason Mantzoukas, Doug Benson, Zoë Kravitz, Kate Micucci, Riki Lindhome, Channing Tatum, Jonah Hill, Adam DeVine, Eddie Izzard, Seth Green, Jermaine Clement, Ellie Kemper

Monday, 6 February 2017

xXx: Return of Xander Cage (2017)

Xxx return of xander cage film poster.jpeg
Triple X-tremely Dumb

Director: D.J. Caruso
Running Time: 107 Minutes
Starring: Vin Diesel, Deepika Padukone, Donnie Yen, Tony Jaa, Nina Dobrev, Ruby Rose, Kris Wu, Rory McCann, Toni Collette, Samuel L. Jackson

Wednesday, 1 February 2017

Moonlight (2016)

Moonlight (2016 film).png
Can't Fight the Moonlight

Director: Barry Jenkins 
Running Time: 111 Minutes 
Starring: Trevante Rhodes, André Holland, Janelle Monáe, Ashton Sanders, Jharrel Jerome, Naomi Harris, Mahershala Ali, Alex Hibbert

Tuesday, 31 January 2017

Hell Or High Water (2016)

Hell or High Water film poster.png
One to see, come hell or high water

Director: David MacKenzie
Running Time: 102 Minutes
Starring: Jeff Bridges, Chris Pine, Ben Foster, Gil Birmingham, 

Saturday, 28 January 2017

La La Land (2016)

A man and a woman dancing beside a rather bright streetlight, a city view stretches out behind them. The woman is wearing a bright yellow dress, her partner is wearing a with shirt and tie with dark pants.
Dancing with the City of Stars

Director: Damien Chazelle
Running Time: 128 Minutes
Starring: Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone, John Legend, Rosemary DeWitt, Finn Wittrock, Callie Hernandez, J.K. Simmons

Saturday, 21 January 2017

Split (2017)

Split (2017 film).jpg
McAvoy gives a multi-faceted performance

Director: M. Night Shyamalan
Running Time: 117 Minutes
Starring: James McAvoy, Anna Taylor-Joy, Betty Buckley, Haley Lu Richardson, Jessica Sula, Kim Director, Brad William Henke

Thursday, 19 January 2017

Blog: My most anticipated of 2017

We're already a bit into 2017, and there's plenty on the horizon to look forward to. We have over 11 full months of cinema to look forward to, and it's clearly all uphill from here. So, let's see what films i'm anticipating the most for 2017.

As usual, I should point out that this list is not an attempt to predict which films will be the best of next year, just an opinion piece of which ones I am anticipating the most. Also, take note how I occasionally grasp at straws for the "Hint of Doubt" section.

Monday, 16 January 2017

The Bye Bye Man (2017)

The Bye Bye Man poster.jpgDon't Think It, Don't Say It, Don't See It

Director: Stacy Title
Running Time: 96 Minutes
Starring: Douglas Smith, Lucien Laviscount, Cressida Bonas, Doug Jones, Carrie-Anne Moss, Faye Dunaway, Michael Trucco, Cleo King, Leigh Whannell

Tuesday, 10 January 2017

Collateral Beauty (2016)

Collateral Beauty poster.png
No Beauty Lies Within Here

Director: David Frankel
Running Time: 97 minutes
Starring: Will Smith, Edward Norton, Michael Peña, Kate Winslet, Helen Mirren, Keira Knightley, Jacob Latimor, Naomie Harris

Thursday, 5 January 2017

Blog: My least anticipated for 2017

It's 2017, and we have some great films coming our way. Unfortunately, we also have a lot of stinkers coming. So, let's see the 20 films i'm least anticipating from this year.

As per usual, I should mention that this is an opinion piece about what films I don't think look good based on the information that is available, not me attempting an accurate prediction of what films will actually be awful. As has happened in the past, some of the films listed here may be among my favourites of the year.I should also mention how I often grasp at straws to find some silver lining for the film.

Tuesday, 3 January 2017

December 2016 in Review

Another year has left us behind, and it remained as film filled for me as usual. I managed to get a number of festive films watched, as well as a great deal of 2016's releases, and managed to complete my 52 Films Directed By Women challenge. As the releases of 2017 loom upon us, let's look back and see what were the last few films I viewed over 2016.

Monster Trucks (2016)

Monster Trucks poster.jpgMonster Mayhem

Director: Chris Wedge
Running Time: 104 Minutes
Starring: Lucas Till, Jane Levy, Amy Ryan, Rob Lowe, Danny Glover, Barry Pepper