Saturday, 29 December 2018

Holmes & Watson (2018)

Holmes & Watson.pngDirector: Etan Cohen
Running Time: 90 Minutes
Starring: Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly, Rebecca Hall, Ralph Fiennes, Rob Brydon, Kelly Macdonald, Steve Coogan, Lauren Lapkus, Pam Ferris, Hugh Laurie, Bella Ramsey, Scarlet Grace, Noah Jupe, Braun Strowman

Wednesday, 26 December 2018

Aquaman (2018)

Aquaman poster.jpgDirector: James Wan
Running Time: 143 Minutes
Starring: Jason Momoa, Amber Heard, Willem Dafoe, Patrick Wilson, Dolph Lundgren, Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, Nicole Kidman, Temuera Morrison

Wednesday, 12 December 2018

Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse (2018)

Spider-Man Into the Spider-Verse poster.jpgDirector: Bob Persichetti, Peter Ramsey, Rodney Rothman
Running Time: 117 Minutes
Starring: Shameik Moore, Jake Johnson, Hailee Steinfeld, Mahershala Ali, Brian Tyree Henry, Lily Tomlin, Luna Lauren Velez, Zoë Kravitz, John Mulaney, Kimiko Glenn, Nicolas Cage, Kathryn Hahn, Liev Schreiber, Chris Pine, Natalie Morales, Lake Bell, Jorma Taccone, Oscar Isaac

Once Upon A Deadpool (2018)

Once Upon A DeadpoolDirector: David Leitch
Running Time: 117 Minutes
Starring: Ryan Reynolds, Fred Savage, Josh Brolin, Morena Baccarin, Julian Dennison, Zazie Beetz, T.J. Miller, Briana Hildebrand, Jack Kesy, Stefan Kapičić, Leslie Uggams, Karan Soni, Eddie Marsan

Sunday, 9 December 2018

November 2018 In Review

November saw me catching up with some of the years gems I'd failed to see. So, let's dive straight into the films I saw this past November.

Wednesday, 5 December 2018

U: July 22 (2018)

U – July 22.jpgDirector: Erik Poppe
Running Time: 90 Minutes
Starring: Andrea Berntzen, Aleksander Holmen, Brede Fristad, Elli Rhiannon Müller Osbourne, Solveig Koløen Birkeland, Jenny Svennevig, Ingeborg Enes Kjevik, Sorosh Sadat, Ada Eide, Mariann Gjerdsbakk, Daniel Sang Tran, Torkel Dommersnes, Magnus Moen, Karoline Schau, Tamanna Agnihotri

Saturday, 1 December 2018

Pokémon The Movie: The Power of Us (2018)

Pokémon The Movie: The Power Of UsDirector: Tetsuo Yajima
Running Time: 105 Minutes
Starring: Sarah Natochenny, Ikue Ōtani, Michele Knotz, James Carter Cathcart, Erica Schroeder, Rina Kawaei, Eddy Lee, Billy Bob Thompson, Laurie Hymes, Pete Zarustica

Wednesday, 28 November 2018

Mandy (2018)

Mandy (2018 film).pngDirector: Panos Cosmatos
Running Time: 121 Minutes
Starring: Nicolas Cage, Andrea Riseborough, Linus Roache, Ned Dennehy, Olwen Fouéré, Richard Brake, Bill Duke

Friday, 23 November 2018

The Girl In The Spider's Web (2018)

The Girl in the Spider's Web poster.pngDirector: Fede Álvarez
Running Time: 115 Minutes
Starring: Claire Foy, Sverrir Gudnason, LaKeith Stanfield, Sylvia Hoeks, Stephen Merchant, Vicky Krieps, Claes Bang, Christopher Convery, Synnøve Macody Lund, Cameron Britton, Andreja Pejić, Mikael Persbrandt, Volker Bruch

Saturday, 10 November 2018

The Nutcracker and The Four Realms (2018)

The Nutcracker and the Four Realms.pngDirector: Lasse Hallström, Joe Johnston
Running Time: 99 Minutes
Starring: Mackenzie Foy, Jayden Fowora-Knight, Keira Knightley, Helen Mirren, Morgan Freeman, Misty Copeland, Eugenio Derbez, Richard E. Grant, Matthew Macfadyen, Charles "Lil Buck" Riley, Anna Madeley

Tuesday, 6 November 2018

Burning (2018)

Burning.pngDirector: Lee Chang-dong
Running Time: 148 Minutes
Starring: Yoo Ah-in, Steven Yeun, Jeon Jong-seo, Kim Soo-kyung, Choi Seung-ho, Moon Sung-keun, Min Bok-gi, Lee Soo-jeong, Ban Hye-ra, Cha Mi-Kyung, Lee Bong-ryeon

Sunday, 4 November 2018

October 2018 In Review

October has come, along with the opportunity to watch a great deal of horror films. Just my month. So, without further ado, let's have a look at what I've seen this past month.

Sunday, 28 October 2018

Halloween (2018)

Halloween (2018) poster.jpgDirector: David Gordon Green
Running Time: 106 Minutes
Starring: Jamie Lee Curtis, Judy Greer, Andi Matichak, Will Patton, Virginia Gardner, James Jude Courtney, Nick Castle, Haluk Bilginer, Jefferson Hall, Rhian Rees, Toby Huss, Dylan Arnold, Miles Robbins, Drew Scheid, Jibrail Nantambu, Omar Dorsey

Friday, 26 October 2018

Bohemian Rhapsody (2018)

Bohemian Rhapsody poster.pngDirector: Bryan Singer
Running Time: 134 Minutes
Starring: Rami Malek, Lucy Boynton, Gwilym Lee, Ben Hardy, Joseph Mazzello, Aidan Gillen, Tom Holland, Allen Leach, Mike Myers, Aaron McCusker, Dermot Murphy, Meneka Das, Ace Bhatti

Sunday, 7 October 2018

September 2018 In Review

Another month gone where I saw the years releases, and also kicked off my first Hooptober. So let's quit dilly dallying, and have a look at the films I watched over this past September.

Gotti (2018)

A black and white photograph of a man in a business suit. In bold orange text the tagline: He showed the world who's boss.Director: Kevin Connolly
Running Time: 104 Minutes
Starring: John Travolta, Kelly Preston, Stacey Keach, Spencer Lofranco, Pruitt Taylor Vince, William DeMeo, Chris Mulkey, Leo Rossi, Chris Kerson

Thursday, 4 October 2018

Venom (2018)

Venom poster.jpgDirector: Ruben Fleischer
Running Time: 112 Minutes
Starring: Tom Hardy, Michelle Williams, Riz Ahmed, Scott Haze, Reid Scott, Jenny Slate, Michelle Lee, Mac Brandt

Tuesday, 2 October 2018

A Star Is Born (2018)

A Star Is BornDirector: Bradley Cooper
Running Time: 136 Minutes
Starring: Bradley Cooper, Lady Gaga, Sam Elliott, Dave Chappelle, Andrew Dice Clay, Anthony Ramos, Bonnie Somerville, Michael Harney, Rafi Gavron

Monday, 1 October 2018

Mile 22 (2018)

Mile 22.pngDirector: Peter Berg
Running Time: 94 Minutes
Starring: Mark Wahlberg, Iko Uwais, John Malkovich, Lauren Cohan, Ronda Rousey, Nikolai Nikolaeff, Carlo Alban, Terry Kinney, Poorna Jagannathan, Sam Medina

Sunday, 23 September 2018

The Predator (2018)

Infrared vision showing the Predator creature and the Predator logoDirector: Shane Black
Running Time: 107 Minutes
Starring: Boyd Holbrook, Trevante Rhodes, Jacob Tremblay, Olivia Munn. Sterling K. Brown, Keegan-Michael Key, Thomas Jane, Alfie Allen, Augusto Aguilera, Yvonne Strahovski, Jake Busey

Sunday, 16 September 2018

Searching (2018)

SearchingDirector: Aneesh Chaganty
Running Time: 102 Minutes
Starring: John Cho, Debra Messing, Michelle La, Sara Sohn, Joseph Lee, Steven Michael Eich, Ric Sarabia, Sean O'Bryan

Friday, 14 September 2018

August 2018 In Review

A past month involving Ingmar Bergman, Channing Tatum, Adam Sandler, and Chainsaws. It was a varied month, to say the least. So, enough dragging it out, here are the films I saw this past August.

Monday, 3 September 2018

Slender Man (2018)

Slender Man (2018) poster.jpgDirector: Sylvain White
Running Time: 93 Minutes
Starring: Joey King, Julia Goldani Telles, Jaz Sinclair, Annalise Basso, Taylor Richardson, Alex Fitzalan, Kevin Chapman, Javier Botet, Jessica Blank, Michael Reilly Burke

Sunday, 2 September 2018

BlacKkKlansman (2018)

Blackkklansman
Director: Spike Lee
Running Time: 135 Minutes
Starring: John David Washington, Adam Driver, Laura Harrier, Topher Grace, Jasper Pääkkönen, Ryan Eggold, Paul Walter Hauser, Ashlie Atkinson, Corey Hawkins

Thursday, 30 August 2018

The Darkest Minds (2018)

The Darkest Minds poster.png
The Dullest Minds

Director: Jennifer Yuh Nelson
Running Time: 105 Minutes
Starring: Amandla Stenberg, Harris Dickinson, Skylan Brooks, Miya Cech, Patrick Gibson, Mandy Moore, Gwendoline Christie, Bradley Whitford

Friday, 24 August 2018

Teen Titans Go! To The Movies (2018)

TTG Movie Poster 5.jpg
A Titan of a Film

Director: Peter Rida Michail, Aaron Horvath
Running Time: 88 Minutes
Starring: Greg Cipes, Scott Menville, Khary Payton, Tara Strong, Hynden Walch, Will Arnett, Kristen Bell, Nicolas Cage, Jimmy Kimmel, Halsey, Lil Yachty

Monday, 6 August 2018

July 2018 In Review

A month where I've managed to catch up in regards to my 52 Films By Women challenge, while also powering through the Mission: Impossible franchise, taking in a great deal of films released this year, and then the odd viewing here and there. So, let's take a look at the films I viewed this past July.

Sunday, 5 August 2018

Mission: Impossible - Fallout (2018)

MI – Fallout.jpgWon't make you fallout with the franchise

Director: Christopher McQuarrie
Running Time: 147 Minutes
Starring: Tom Cruise, Henry Cavill, Ving Rhames, Simon Pegg, Rebecca Ferguson, Sean Harris, Angela Bassett, Michelle Monaghan, Alec Baldwin, Vanessa Kirby, Frederick Schmidt, Wes Bentley

Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)

Ant-Man and the Wasp poster.jpgSmall Wonder

Director: Peyton Reed
Running Time: 118 Minutes
Starring: Paul Rudd, Evangeline Lilly, Michael Peña, Walton Goggins, Bobby Cannavale, Judy Greer, Tip "T.I." Harris, David Dastmalchian, Hannah John-Kamen, Abby Ryder Fortson, Randall Park, Michelle Pfeiffer, Laurence Fishburne, Michael Douglas

Sunday, 29 July 2018

Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again (2018)

A large crowd of men and women standing on a wooden pier.
One for you to take a chance on?

Director: Ol Parker
Running Time: 114 Minutes
Starring: Amanda Seyfried, Meryl Streep, Lily James, Dominic Cooper, Christine Baranski, Jessica Keenan Wynn, Julie Walters, Alexa Davies, Pierce Brosnan, Jeremy Irvine, Colin Firth, Hugh Skinner, Stellan Skarsgård, Josh Dylan, Andy García, Cher, Omid Djalili, Celia Imrie, Maria Vacratsis

Wednesday, 25 July 2018

Incredibles 2 (2018)

The Incredibles 2.jpg
Another Incredible Effort

Director: Brad Bird
Running Time: 125 Minutes
Starring: Craig T. Nelson, Holly Hunter, Sarah Vowell, Huck Milner, Eli Fucile, Samuel L. Jackson, Bob Odenkirk, Catherine Keener, Jonathan Banks, Isabella Rossellini

Monday, 16 July 2018

June 2018 in Review

It's a wonderful feeling when its days after you've seen something, and it stays with you, to the point you're replaying scenes and parts of dialogue over and over in your head. I was fortunate enough to have this a number of times throughout the month, so let's look at the films I watched this past June.

Wednesday, 4 July 2018

Whitney (2018)

Whitney (2018 film).jpg
A tragic look at the real person behind the icon

Director: Kevin MacDonald
Running Time: 122 Minutes
Starring: Whitney Houston, Bobby Brown, Bobbi Kristina Brown, Cissy Houston, Gary Houston, Robyn Crawford, L.A. Reid, Clive Davis

Monday, 2 July 2018

Mute (2018)

Mute poster.png
Silent Night, Dragged out Plight

Director: Duncan Jones
Running Time: 126 Minutes
Starring: Alexander Skarsgård, Paul Rudd, Justin Theroux, Seyneb Saleh, Robert Sheehan, Gilbert Owuor, Robert Kazinsky, Noel Clarke, Dominic Monaghan, Florence Kasumba

Sicario 2: Soldado (2018)

Sicario 2: Soldado
Little fortune for this soldier

Director: Stefano Sollima
Running Time: 122 Minutes
Starring: Benicio del Toro, Josh Brolin, Isabela Moner, Jeffrey Donovan, Manuel Garcia-Rulfo, Catherine Keener, Matthew Modine, Elijah Rodriguez, Shea Whigham, Bruno Bichir

Monday, 25 June 2018

Hereditary (2018)

Hereditary.png
Family Misfortunes

Director: Ari Aster
Running Time: 127 Minutes
Starring: Toni Collette, Alex Wolff, Milly Shapiro, Gabriel Byrne, Ann Dowd

Wednesday, 20 June 2018

May 2018 in Review

Moving houses has caused me to slow down on writing (even more than I had already slowed down to). So now that I've settled in, let's finally get to seeing what I saw this past May.

Monday, 14 May 2018

April 2018 in Review

We're a quarter of the way through the year, so it's time for another one of these posts. Let's see what I viewed this past April.

The Strangers: Prey At Night (2018)

The Strangers; Prey at Night.jpg
Slasher Fiction

Director: Johannes Roberts
Running Time: 85 Minutes
Starring: Christina Hendricks, Martin Henderson, Bailee Madison, Lewis Pullman, Emma Bellomy, Damian Maffei, Lea Enslin

Wednesday, 9 May 2018

Love, Simon (2018)

Love, Simon poster.pngLove and Friendship

Director: Greg Berlanti
Running Time: 110 Minutes
Starring: Nick Robinson, Josh Duhamel, Jennifer Garner, Katherine Langford, Alexandra Shipp, Jorge Lendeborg Jr, Keiynan Lonsdale, Miles Heizer, Logan Miller, Talitha Bateman, Tony Hale

Tuesday, 1 May 2018

Truth or Dare (2018)

TruthorDarePoster.jpgTo be followed by Hopscotch

Director: Jeff Wadlow
Running Time: 100 Minutes
Starring: Lucy Hale, Tyler Posey, Violett Beane, Hayden Szeto, Landon Liboiron, Nolan Gerard Funk, Sophie Ali, Sam Lerner

Sunday, 29 April 2018

Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

Avengers Infinity War poster.jpgThe Gauntlet has been thrown

Directors: Anthony Russo, Joe Russo
Running Time: 149 Minutes
Starring: Robert Downey Jr, Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Benedict Cumberbatch, Don Cheadle, Tom Holland, Chadwick Boseman, Paul Bettany, Elizabeth Olsen, Anthony Mackie, Sebastian Stan, Tom Hiddleston, Idris Elba, Peter Dinklage, Benedict Wong, Pom Klementieff, Karen Gillan, Dave Bautista, Zoe Saldana, Vin Diesel, Bradley Cooper, Gwyneth Paltrow, Benicio Del Toro, Josh Brolin, Chris Pratt, Terry Notary, Tom Vaughan-Lawlor, Carrie Coon, Michael James Shaw, Danai Gurira, Winston Duke, Letitia Wright, Jacob Batalon, William Hurt

Sunday, 15 April 2018

March 2018 In Review

March is long gone, and it's about time I got to posting this. Here are the films I saw this past March.

Sunday, 8 April 2018

A Quiet Place (2018)

A Quiet PlaceSilent, but Deadly

Director: John Krasinski
Running Time: 90 Minutes
Starring: Emily Blunt, John Krasinski, Millicent Simmonds, Noah Jupe, Cade Woodward

Saturday, 7 April 2018

Unsane (2018)

Unsane (film).pngUnsane Claire Posse

Director: Steven Soderbergh
Running Time: 98 Minutes
Starring: Claire Foy, Joshua Leonard, Jay Pharoah, Juno Temple, Aimee Mullins, Amy Irving, Polly McKie, Zach Cherry

Sunday, 18 March 2018

Peter Rabbit (2018)

Peter-rabbit-teaser.jpg
Hare Brained stuff

Director: Will Gluck
Running Time: 95 Minutes
Starring: Domhnall Gleeson, Rose Byrne, James Corden, Elizabeth Debicki, Margot Robbie, Daisy Ridley, Sam Neill, Colin Moody, Sia

Friday, 16 March 2018

February 2018 In Review

Oscar season is gone, and it resulted in me seeing some phenomenal films that were in contention (and Darkest Hour). But enough of that, let's see what I viewed this past February.

Tuesday, 27 February 2018

20 Best Films of 2017

It's unbelievable how strong of a year 2017 was for cinema. To whittle this list down to just these choices was difficult enough, as it still feels as though I'm excluding some phenomenal films, and that's without seeing some key films (unfortunately, this includes the recently limited UK release of Lady Bird). Any film in my top 10, at least, would be a worthy choice for the years best film. But enough about this, let's see what films I consider to be the best of 2017.

Sunday, 25 February 2018

20 Worst Films of 2017

I've left it long enough, so here's my list of the worst films I witnessed from 2017.

Sunday, 18 February 2018

Phantom Thread (2017)

Phantom Thread.png
Dressed to Thrill

Director: Paul Thomas Anderson
Running Time: 130 Minutes
Starring: Daniel Day Lewis, Lesley Manville, Vicky Krieps, Camilla Rutherford, Gina McKee, Brian Gleeson, Harriet Sansom Harris, Lujza Richter, Julia Davis

Saturday, 17 February 2018

Black Panther (2018)

Black Panther film poster.jpg
From Wakanda With Love

Director: Ryan Coogler
Running Time: 134 Minutes
Starring: Chadwick Boseman, Michael B. Jordan, Lupita Nyong'o, Danai Gurira, Martin Freeman, Daniel Kaluuya, Letitia Wright, Winston Duke, Angela Bassett, Forest Whitaker, Andy Serkis, Florence Kasumba, John Kani, Atandwa Kani, Sterling K. Brown

Saturday, 10 February 2018

Fifty Shades Freed (2018)

Fifty Shades Freed poster.pngA climax that's firing blanks

Director: James Foley
Running Time: 105 Minutes
Starring: Dakota Johnson, Jamie Dornan, Eric Johnson, Max Martini, Brant Daugherty, Arielle Kebbel, Fay Masterson, Luke Grimes, Eloise Mumford, Rita Ora, Marcia Gay Harden, Tyler Hoechlin, Hiro Kanagawa

Thursday, 8 February 2018

January 2018 In Review

New year, new opportunity to watch all kinds of brand new films. In an effort to catch up on releases I'd missed from 2017, I ventured to the cinema quite a few times, while also going through a backlog of DVDs and recorded programs. So, without further ado, let's take a look at the films I watched this past January.

Early Man (2018)

Early Man Poster.jpgFootball of the Wild

Director: Nick Park
Running Time: 89 Minutes
Starring: Eddie Redmayne, Tom Hiddleston, Maisie Williams, Timothy Spall, Richard Ayoade, Selina Griffiths, Johnny Vegas, Mark Williams, Gina Yashere, Simon Greenall, Rob Brydon, Kayvan Novak, Miriam Margoyles, Nick Park

Tuesday, 6 February 2018

I, Tonya (2017)

I, Tonya.png
All great with the skates?

Director: Craig Gillespie
Running Time: 119 Minutes
Starring: Margot Robbie, Sebastian Stan, Allison Janney, Julianne Nicholson, Caitlin Carver, Bojana Novakovic, Paul Walter Hauser, Bobby Cannavale, Mckenna Grace, Maizie Smith

Monday, 29 January 2018

The Commuter (2018)

The Commuter film poster.jpg
Taken the Train

Director: Jaume Collet-Serra
Runtime: 104 Minutes
Starring: Liam Neeson, Vera Farmiga, Patrick Wilson, Andy Nyman, Jonathan Banks, Florence Pugh, Clara Lago, Elizabeth McGovern, Dean-Charles Chapman, Sam Neill

Thursday, 25 January 2018

Most Anticipated of 2018

We've stepped into 2018, and there's plenty of cinematic ventures to get excited about. Over 11 months of cinema is headed our way, so let's see which films have me the most intrigued.

Monday, 22 January 2018

The Shape Of Water (2017)

The Shape of Water (film).png
A fishy romance? Water the odds.

Director: Guillermo Del Toro
Running Time: 123 Minutes
Starring: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Octavia Spencer, Michael Stuhlbarg, Lauren Lee Smith, Nick Searcy, David Hewlett

Tuesday, 16 January 2018

December 2017 In Review

2017 is long gone, and alongside some viewings of films from the year, it's unsurprising the final month resulted in a few festive films being watched. So, let's have a look at the films I watched this past December.


Thursday, 4 January 2018

Star Wars: The Last Jedi (2017)

Star Wars The Last Jedi.jpg
Jedi of the Tiger

Director: Rian Johnson
Running Time: 152 Minutes
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Lupita Nyong'o, Domhnal Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro

Monday, 1 January 2018

Bright (2017)

BrightPoster.jpeg
The future's not so Bright

Director: David Ayer
Runtime: 117 Minutes
Starring: Will Smith, Joel Edgerton, Noomi Rapace, Édgar Ramírez, Lucy Fry, Ike Barinholtz, Happy Anderson, Dawn Olivieri, Matt Gerald, Margaret Cho, Brad William Henke, Jay Hernandez